hope2Soroti Diocese started in 1961, created out of the Upper Nile Diocese of the Anglican province of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Boga-Zaire. It has since birthed Karamoja Diocese in 1972 and Kumi Diocese in 2001. It currently has 5 Archdeaconries and 40 Parishes, in four Administrative Districts of Soroti, Kaberamaido, Amuria and Katakwi. It is one of the 30 Anglican Dioceses that currently constitute the Province of the Anglican Church in Uganda; between 40 and 50% of the total population in these Districts belong to the Anglican church. The Anglican Church in the Area covered by Soroti Diocese has founded over 276 primary schools, 18 Secondary Schools, 3 Technical schools, I Theological College and 5 Health Clinics.

The Church of Uganda – Soroti Diocese is led by a Bishop and a team of 82 staff in the five Departments of Missions, Education, Health, Planning and Development, and Finance and Administration, all of them answerable to the Diocesan Synod.
The Soroti Diocese incorperates the four areas Soroti, Kaberamaido, Amuria and Katakwi.

The Vision of Church of Uganda Soroti Diocese isA peaceful, prosperous and spiritually mature Church.”

The Mission of the Diocese isTo proclaim the Gospel of Christ through preaching, teaching, worshiping and serving the people of God.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s